Le PGCE (International) est un diplôme postgrade de formation d’enseignant proposé grâce à un partenariat entre l'Université de Durham au Royaume-Uni (www.dur.ac.uk) et l'Ecole Internationale de Genève. ​

Après une sélection effectuée par l'Université de Durham avec la participation de l'Ecole Internationale de Genève, des places seront accordées à un maximum de 14 participants qui souhaitent exercer le métier d’enseignant primaire ou secondaire dans un contexte international.

Si vous souhaitez être pris en compte pour la promotion 2019/20, veuillez contacter alison.ball@ecolint.ch

La formation se déroule sur une année scolaire et a lieu chaque année dès septembre.

La formation se compose de trois modules : un module professionnel et deux modules académiques de niveau master.

Le module professionnel

Cette partie du cours, délivrée par l’Ecole Internationale de Genève, se fait principalement en milieu scolaire. Les participants sont basés sur le Campus des Nations, mais effectuent des observations et des stages dans les classes des trois campus de la Fondation et d'autres écoles partenaires dans les environs de Genève.

Ce module est constitué de séminaires, d'ateliers et de semaines de formation professionnelle en lien avec divers sujets tels que la planification, l'enseignement de l’anglais en tant que deuxième langue, la gestion de la classe et l'évaluation. Des ateliers et cours couvrant des domaines tels que les besoins particuliers en matière d’apprentissage, les enfants de la troisième culture (Third Culture kids), l'éducation internationale et la rédaction de rapports font également partie de ce module.

Pour réussir ce module professionnel, les participants doivent démontrer, via un portefeuille de documents électroniques, qu’ils ont répondu à un certain nombre de critères professionnels liés à des tâches à accomplir.

Il y a deux périodes principales de stages en classe : l’une de six semaines au premier trimestre et l’autre de dix semaines aux deuxième et troisième trimestres. Au cours de ces expériences, les participants sont sous la supervision de l’enseignant régulier de la classe. Lors du premier stage, les participants enseignent jusqu'à 50% du temps de classe et 75% durant le second stage.

Les deux modules académiques

L’Université de Durham assure cette partie académique de la formation. Chaque participant est lié à un tuteur du Département d’éducation de l'université. Ce tuteur est responsable des tâches à réaliser en rapport avec les différentes thématiques et conseille le participant pour ces deux modules du master.

Les participants doivent garder un contact régulier avec leur tuteur académique par e-mail, téléphone ou vidéo-conférence. Les participants ont accès à la plateforme d’enseignement en ligne (DUO) et à la bibliothèque du Département d’éducation de l’Université de Durham.

L’enseignement de ces deux modules démarre avec l’événement annuel Reflective Practioner Conference qui a lieu à Durham chaque année en janvier. Les participants ont l’obligation d’y participer (le coût du voyage et de l’hébergement dans l’un des départements de l’université n’est pas inclus dans le prix de la formation). Ces deux modules font partie du diplôme du master. Les participants qui le souhaitent peuvent le compléter par la suite à Durham ou à Genève à temps partiel au cours des deux années qui suivent l’obtention du diplôme PGCE (International).

Evaluation du cours

Pour  obtenir le PGCE (International), les participants doivent avoir réussi leurs stages en classe, les deux modules académiques et le module professionnel.

(Note : le PGCE (International) ne peut aboutir au QTS (Qualified Teacher Status, délivré aux enseignants d’Angleterre et du Pays de Galles) car l'expérience en milieu scolaire n’aura pas eu lieu sur les territoires requis. Toutefois, les participants auront rassemblé, à travers cette formation, un ensemble de justifications démontrant l’acquisition de compétences professionnelles.)

Certificat du Baccalauréat International en enseignement et apprentissage

L’Université de Durham et l'Ecole Internationale de Genève ont été officiellement autorisées à proposer le certificat de l'IB en enseignement et apprentissage (niveau 1) parallèlement à la formation PGCE (International). Il s'agit donc d'une deuxième qualification que les participants peuvent choisir d’obtenir pendant l’année.

Les participants choisissent l'un des trois programmes de l’IB (Programme Primaire, Programme d’éducation intermédiaire ou Programme du diplôme) et seront évalués selon les standards de l’IB via une série de travaux rassemblés dans un dossier électronique. La compréhension du programme de l’IB choisi sera également évaluée au cours d’un entretien à la fin de la formation, parallèlement au portfolio du PGCE.

Veuillez noter que le participant qui réussit l’évaluation devra s’acquitter d’un montant de £150 pour l’obtention du certificat. Vous trouverez davantage d’information sur https://www.ibo.org/en/professional-development/professional-certificate... (en anglais uniquement).

TIC et bibliothèques

Pendant toute la durée de la formation, les participants auront besoin d'un ordinateur portable ; celui-ci peut, au besoin, être prêté par l'école. Les participants auront accès à la bibliothèque du Département d’éducation de l’Université de Durham et pourront en outre consulter les ouvrages de l’Institut d’apprentissage et d’enseignement et de l’Université de Genève.

Conditions Générales et Financières

Les frais sont divisés en trois parties: inscription, module professionnel et modules académiques.

Frais d’inscription: CHF 1’000
Ce montant est destiné à couvrir les frais administratifs et à confirmer l’inscription. Ils sont payables à l'Ecole Internationale de Genève immédiatement et sont non remboursables. 

Frais du module professionnel: CHF 18’750
Ce montant est payable à l’Ecole Internationale de Genève pour 2016/17 en trois échéances. Les frais d’inscription de CHF 1’000 seront déduits lors de la première facturation.

Frais des modules académique
Les informations concernant ces frais sont disponibles à l’adresse https://www.dur.ac.uk/education/postgraduate/pgce_international/. Le montant est à payer directement à l’Université de Durham, en trois échéances, sous forme de forfait pour tous les participants, quelle que soit leur pays d’origine.

 

Information Sessions - Campus de Nations:

lun 14 jan 12.30 - 13.30

Please register by sending an email to Lisa Parker (email lisa.parker@ecolint.ch)

Comment postuler ?

Les personnes intéressées doivent être titulaires d'un bachelor, avoir un niveau  d’anglais proche de la langue maternelle et pouvoir justifier leur intérêt pour l'enseignement. Les candidats doivent avoir l’équivalent de l’(I)GCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) en maths, anglais et sciences, avec des notes de A* à C.

Les candidats qui répondent aux critères d’admission doivent  postuler en ligne auprès de l'université de Durham.  https://www.dur.ac.uk/study/pg/apply/   Ils doivent également envoyer un curriculum vitae accompagné d’une lettre de motivation qui précisera leur expérience professionnelle à ce jour et les raisons pour lesquelles ils veulent exercer le métier d’enseignant. Ces documents doivent être envoyés par email à Alison Ball, co-directrice de l’Institut d’apprentissage et d’enseignement de l’Ecolint, à l’adresse pgce.fdn@ecolint.ch.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Les questions concernant le programme doivent être adressées à :

Alison Ball
Co-directrice de l’Institut d’apprentissage et d’enseignement
Ecole Internationale de Genève
alison.ball@ecolint.ch

Les questions sur l’admission au programme doivent être adressées à:

Lisa Parker
Assistant administrative
Institut d’apprentissage et d’enseignement
Ecole Internationale de Genève
lisa.parker@ecolint.ch
Tél: +41 (0) 22 770 47 67

or

Steph Tunstall
Admissions Team Manager
Durham University
ed.pgtstudents@durham.ac.uk
Tel +44 (0) 191 334 48316Vidéos PGCE

The PGCE (International) is a post graduate level initial teacher training course offered, through a collaborative partnership, by Durham University UK (www.dur.ac.uk) and the International School of Geneva.

After a selection process by Durham University, with input from the International School of Geneva, places will be offered to up to fourteen trainees who wish to train to teach Primary or Secondary students in an international context. 

The course runs for one academic year and begins every year in September. The course is composed of three modules: a professional module and two academic modules at Masters level.

The Professional Module

This part of the course is delivered by the International School of Geneva and is primarily school-based. The PGCE classroom is at the Campus des Nations, but students have observation and teaching placements on all three campuses of the Foundation and in other local partner schools in and around Geneva. 

As part of the professional module there are seminars, workshops and a number of professional training weeks, linked to a variety of subjects including planning, EAL (English as an Additional Language), classroom management and assessment.  Workshops and lectures covering such topics as Special Needs, ‘Third Culture kids’, International Education and writing reports also form part of the professional module. 

In order to complete the professional module successfully, students need to demonstrate, via an e-portfolio, evidence of having successfully completed a set of professional standards linked to tasks.

There are two main periods of 'school experience' placements: one in the first term of six weeks and one, in the second and third terms, of 10 weeks.  During these times students, working at all times under the supervision of the regular class teacher, teach up to a maximum of 50% of timetable in the first placement and 75% in the second.

The two Academic Modules

Durham University delivers the academic part of the course. Each student is linked to an academic tutor in the School of Education at the University, who is responsible for subject specific tasks and guidance for the two Masters level modules.

Students are expected to keep in regular contact with the academic tutor by e-mail, telephone or video conference conversations. Students have access to Durham’s online teaching facility (DUO) and the Durham University Education Library.  

The two Masters modules are primarily delivered through the annual Reflective Practitioner Conference held in Durham each January, which PGCE (International) students are expected to attend. (Cost for travel and accommodation, which is in one of the colleges, is not included in the course fee). These two modules form part of a Masters degree which can then, if the student desires, be completed, in Durham or Geneva, part time over the two years following on from the end of the PGCE (International) course.

Assessment of the Course

In order to be awarded the PGCE (International), the student is required to be successful in assessed school practice observations, and to have passed the two Masters level modules and the professional module.

(Note that this PGCE (International) cannot be awarded with QTS, English Qualified Teacher Status, as school experience will not have taken place in England. However, the students will have gathered a portfolio of evidence to demonstrate that they have met a set of agreed professional competencies).

International Baccalaureate Certificate in Teaching and Learning

Durham University and the International School of Geneva have been officially certified to offer the International Baccalaureate Certificate in Teaching and Learning (IBctl) Level 1 alongside the PGCE (International) course. This is therefore a second qualification which students work towards during the year.

Students choose one of the three IB programmes (Primary Years Programme, Middle Years Programme or Diploma Programme) and gather evidence in an electronic portfolio to meet IB standards. Understanding of the chosen IB programme is evaluated during a viva-voce interview – along with the balance of the PGCE portfolio - at the end of the course.

Please note: on successful completion, students pay a registration fee (£150) for the IBctl. For further information, please click on: http://www.ibo.org/programmes/pd/qualifications/educatorcertificates

ICT and Library Facilities

Students on the course require a laptop which can be provided if necessary by the school, for use during the year of the course. As well as the Durham University Education Library, students also have access to the catalogue of the Institute of Learning and Teaching library at the Campus des Nations and will also be able to use the University of Geneva Education library.

General and Financial Conditions

The fee for this course is divided into 3 parts: The Registration fee, the Professional fee and the Academic fee.  

Please note there are no scholarships or bursaries available for this programme.

Registration Fee: CHF 1,000
This fee covers the administrative costs of processing the registration and secures a place on the course. It is a non-refundable deposit payable to the International School of Geneva immediately. 
Professional fee: CHF 18,750
This fee is payable to the International School of Geneva. This is payable in three installments and the Registration Fee of CHF 1,000 is deductible from the first installment.
Academic Fee
Details concerning the academic fee payable to Durham University can be found at https://www.dur.ac.uk/education/postgraduate/pgce_international/. This is payable directly to Durham University, also in three instalments and is a flat fee for all students regardless of country of origin.

For detailed information, please download our General & Financial Conditions brochure.

Information sessions for 2017/18 applications

An Information Session for the 2018/19 programme at Campus des Nations will be held on the following date:

  • 15th January 2018     16.00 - 17.00

Please register for one of the above sessions by sending an email to : lisa.parker@ecolint.ch

How to Apply?

Those interested in applying should be well qualified graduates, have a mother tongue level of English and be able to demonstrate a proven interest in teaching. All applicants must have Maths, English and Science to GCSE level grades A*-C, or equivalent.

Interested applicants with appropriate qualifications are invited to apply on-line to Durham University. Applicants are also asked to send a personal statement detailing their professional experience thus far and their reasons for wanting to enter the teaching profession, along with a curriculum vitae, to Alison Ball, Co-Director of Ecolint’s Institute of Learning and Teaching, at pgce.fdn@ecolint.ch.

Further information

Further questions about the programme should be addressed to:

Alison Ball
Co-Director of the Institute of Learning and Teaching
International School of Geneva
alison.ball@ecolint.ch

Information about applying to the programme should be addressed to:

Lisa Parker
Admin Support
Institute of Learning and Teaching
International School of Geneva
lisa.parker@ecolint.ch
Tel: +41 (0) 22 770 47 67

or

Steph Tunstall
Admissions Team Manager
Durham University
ed.pgtstudents@durham.ac.uk
Tel +44 (0) 191 334 48316

PGCE Videos